Ranked: Clubs who have won the most PFA Player of the Year awards

first_img 5 – Arsenal and Tottenham both have five winners – Liam Brady (1978-79) and Dennis Bergkamp (1997-98) were the Gunners’ first two winners before Thierry Henry became the first back-to-back winner of the award in 2002-03 and 2003-04. Robin van Persie picked it up in his last season at Arsenal (2011-12). On the other side of north London Pat Jennings (1975-76), Clive Allen (1986-87) and David Ginola (1998-99) won it before Welshman Gareth Bale won it twice in three years in 2010-11 and 2012-13. 6 1 – Leeds United, Derby County, Nottingham Forest, Ipswich Town, Southampton and Blackburn Rovers have all provided one recipient of the PFA Player of the Year award. Find out which clubs have had the most winners – just click the arrow above, right – Norman Hunter won it for Leeds in 1973-74, Colin Todd for Derby in 1974-75, Peter Shilton for Forest in 1977-78, John Wark for Ipswich in 1980-81, Kevin Keegan for Southampton in 1981-82 and Alan Shearer for Premier League winning Blackburn in 1994-95. 6 3 – Aston Villa have provided three winners – Andy Gray won it in 1976-77 and became the first player to win both the main award and the PFA Young Player of the Year in the same year. David Platt (1989-90) and Paul McGrath (1992-93) made it three Villa winners. 6 6 2 – Everton, Newcastle and Chelsea have each had two winners – Peter Reid and Gary Lineker won back-to-back awards for Everton in 1984-85 and 1985-86, as did Les Ferdinand and Alan Shearer in 1995-96 and 1996-97 for Newcastle. John Terry became the Blues’ first winner in 2004-05 before Eden Hazard won it in 2014-15. 6 6 6 – Liverpool have had six winners – The Reds had a good run with the award in the 1980s with Terry McDermott (1979-80), Kenny Dalglish (1982-83), Ian Rush (1983-84) and John Barnes (1987-88) all being recognised. Steven Gerrard (2005-06) and Luis Suarez (2013-14) are the other two Liverpool recipients. The PFA awards take place on Sunday with, among others, the PFA Player of the Year, Team of the Year and Young Player of the Year announced.Competing for the top award this year are Leicester City trio Jamie Vardy, Riyad Mahrez and N’Golo Kante, Tottenham’s Harry Kane, West Ham’s Dimitri Payet and Arsenal’s Mesut Ozil.The first PFA Player of the Year was announced in 1974 and since then there have been 37 different winners, with only five players winning it twice (Mark Hughes, Alan Shearer, Thierry Henry, Cristiano Ronaldo and Gareth Bale).Shearer is the only player to be recognised while playing for two different clubs while Ronaldo and Henry are the only two to win it in two consecutive seasons.Ronaldo’s remarkable 2007-08 season so him become one of only three to win the main award and the Young Player of the Year in the same season, along with Bale and Andy Gray.Unsurprisingly, England are the country with the most winners with 18, followed by Wales (six) and France (four).But which club has the most recipients of the award? talkSPORT reveals all…Click the arrow above, right, to see the countdown! 11 – Manchester United have a massive 11 winners of the PFA Player of the Year award – Any surprise that the most dominant force in Premier League history also dominates this award? Mark Hughes (1988-89, 1990-91) became the first player to win the award twice before Gary Pallister (1991-92), Eric Cantona (1993-94), Roy Keane (1999-00), Teddy Sheringham (2000-01) and Ruud van Nistelrooy (2001-2002). Cristiano Ronaldo (2006-07, 2007-08) started a trend of four consecutive Manchester United winners with Ryan Giggs and Wayne Rooney following suit in 2008-09 and 2009-10.last_img read more