U23 Lone Star for Dakar Wednesday

first_imgThe national U23 football team, headed by former senior national team captain Joe Armstrong Nagbe and assisted by Janjay Jacobs is expected to leave the country Wednesday, November 4, for Dakar, Senegal to participate in the West Africa Football Union (WAFU) tournament.The tournament begins tomorrow, will end November 8.The team trained for a short period to participate in the tournament with nine countries.WAFU was founded in 1975 with all the current members, but in 2011 the Confederation of African Football (CAF) decided to split it into two zones, citing “the organizational issues that face WAFU.”Liberia is placed in Zone A which includes nine members, while Musa Bility, Liberia Football Association (LFA) President is serving as Vice President of the Zone. Eighteen players have been selected and hoped will attempt with medals like in 2011 when the red, white and blue outfit, under the tutelage of former Lone Star versatile defender, Thomas Kojo returned home with a bronze medal.Players making the trip include Tommy Songo, Christopher Jackson and Trokon Zeon all of LISCR FC; Simpson Giddings of FC Fassell, Hilton Varney, Alpha James, Van Dave Harmon, Junior Barshell, Mark Paye, Prince Jetor and Alvin Maccornell all of Barrack Young Controller (BYC).Others include Sporo Sormah who is currently unattached after reports gathered have it that his contract with Sewe Sports of Ivory Coast was terminated, Murphy ‘Oscar’ Dolley and Raymond Fransciah of Monrovia Club Breweries, Titus Cooper and Barbu Kollie of LFA topflight champions Nimba United, Sholee ‘Deco’ Quiah of Invincible Eleven (IE) and Richard Lloyd of Watanga FC.Below is the two zones of WAFUZone ACape VerdeGambiaGuineaGuinea-BissauLiberiaMaliMauritaniaSenegalSierra LeoneZone BCountryBeninBurkina FasoGhanaIvory CoastNigerNigeriaTogoShare this:Click to share on Twitter (Opens in new window)Click to share on Facebook (Opens in new window)last_img read more